As noted, earlier today WWE announced that a 16 man tournament will be held in the U.K. in January, and the winner of the tournament will become the first ever WWE United Kingdom Champion.

Related: WWE Announces United Kingdom Championship Tournament To Take Place In January

WWE has already confirmed the 16 competitors for the event, and they will be Trent Seven, Pete Dunne, Tyler Bate, Wolfgang, Tyson T-Bone, Tucker, Jordan Devlin, Roy Johnson, Joseph Conners, HC Dyer, Jack Starz, Sam Gradwell, James Drake, Tyson T. Bone, Dan Moloney, Chris Tyler, Saxon Huxley, Ringo Ryan and Tiger Ali.

Triple H made the official announcement during a press conference earlier today, and Finn Balor will be working as an announcer during the tournament along with William Regal and Nigel McGuinness.

Balor commented on the tournament saying that it will bridge the gap between independent wrestling and the WWE like never before.