hacksaw jim duggan

The Royal Rumble is set to take place from the Alamodome in San Antonio, TX on Sunday, January 29, and the card is loaded with stars and several title matches. This year’s Royal Rumble will mark the 30th anniversary of the pay-per-view and the big event has come a long way over the years.

Related: Backstage News On Original WrestleMania Plans For The Undertaker

The first Royal Rumble was won by none other than “Hacksaw” Jim Duggan, and WWE recently caught up with the Hall of Famer to ask him about his big victory. Duggan says that at the time the first Royal Rumble seemed like just another day at work, because no one had any idea how big it would become. He added that he’s done a lot in his career, but his Royal Rumble win is what most people remember, and it helped to define who “Hacksaw” Jim Duggan is.

Jim Duggan’s short interview can be viewed below.

You can check out the card for this year’s Royal Rumble below.

30 Man Royal Rumble Match
The Undertaker, Goldberg, Brock Lesnar, Braun Strowman, Seth Rollins, Chris Jericho, Kofi Kingston, Big E, Xavier Woods, Baron Corbin, Dean Ambrose, The Miz and Dolph Ziggler.

WWE Championship
AJ Styles vs. John Cena

Universal Championship – Chris Jericho To Be Suspended Above The Ring In A Shark Cage
Kevin Owens vs. Roman Reigns

WWE Raw Women’s Championship
Charlotte vs. Bayley

WWE Cruiserweight Championship
Rich Swann vs. Neville